Large Head-On Collider

Beginnings Are Endless for $4.99

Posted in Personal by steelstringed on January 6, 2010

It’s 9:30 a.m. and I haven’t slept a wink. Instead, I have chosen to embark on a day’s journey of chores, a task rarely undertaken by a night owl like me. I can maybe count a handful of times in my life that I have gone out early to get things done, but the beginning of a new year can have a driving effect, I suppose. The day begins at ihop with endless pancakes, endless coffee, and seemingly endless energy. Dennis is my server and his attitude is putting happy to shame. Seriously, he makes Meg Ryan seem like Brad Garrett – it’s rather astonishing.

My next stop is Wal-Mart, where I will look for space heaters, laundry detergent, and fabric for the garage that we are turning into a rehearsal space for our new band. Our goal is to book a show in two weeks, but playing guitar in a 30-degree concrete rectangle isn’t exactly an ideal practice location.

From there I move on to Pangaea, a quaint and eccentric little shop on 21st street that sells aromatic candles, incense, and plenty of other odds and ends. Nag is becoming a staple of our house, and we have been out of it for weeks. If you don’t know what Nag is, do yourself a favor and try to track it down. It’s a little hard to find, but the smell of it slowly burning releases a calm, creative flow that can only be attributed to pure magic. Forget chemical reactions and scientific explanations; if there is a god, Nag is definitely the first thing he created. The second thing he created was the $4.99 endless pancake special at ihop. Holy shit these are good.

After purchasing my supernatural scented wonders, I suppose I should head to the bank and pay rent to the landlord. Happy new year, Jeremy. Have a grand and a half. Maybe you can use some of it to insulate the door to our basement so that the studio doesn’t freeze over this winter.

Finally, I will end the day spending time with one of my absolute favorite people here in Nashville. If I were anyone other than myself at this moment, I would be extremely envious of the person in my shoes. Because honestly, these pancakes are phenomenal.

Leave a Reply

