Large Head-On Collider

Epstein-Barr and a Healthy Dose of Age 16

Posted in Books, Creationism, Evolution, Films, Music, Personal, Politics, Religion, Science, Uncategorized, Unmitigated Awesomeness by steelstringed on November 20, 2008

Please, someone give me bamboo shoots to poke underneath my fingernails.  I have nothing to do.  On November 5th, I was diagnosed positive for the Epstein-Barr Virus (relax, it’s only a snake..er…it’s only mono) and it has only been a recent occurrence that my daily temperature has finally failed to hit the 100 + mark.  Elevated liver enzymes are going back down, my spleen is hopefully returning to a normal size, and I only experienced jaundice for 2 days!  However, I’m still not out of the woods.

Yummy yummy in my tummy

Yummy yummy in my tummy

Due to this unfortunate sequence of events, I’ve had to pack up my things, temporarily say goodbye to some friends, and move home to Missouri for a few months in order to rest and recover.  They say relapse is a common tick-box that stupid and overzealous mononites choose to check off once they start feeling even the slightest bit better, and I’m hoping to avoid that fate.  I can sense my immune system gasping for air, even though am no longer in need of a strict 3-hour Tylenol/Motrin rotation, and I feel just peachy most of the day without any kind of medicine at all.

In essence, though, I’m 16 years old and back in high school, and I’m on extended winter break.  I have no apartment, no job, very little cash, and my wonderful mother is cooking up food, busting out the thermometer, and making sure I have an ample supply of Oreos and milk.  It is all well and good; I think you’d be hard-pressed to find someone who didn’t like a doctor’s prescription of “sleep and eat, do nothing else,” but it is hard to be away from Nashville, away from music, away from friends.  I am growing anxious already, but maybe once I can get my small studio set-up working here, I will at least find enough comfort so that I don’t have to resort to http://www.bambooheadquarters.com/ to satisfy any masochistic desires.

Tagged with: , ,

9 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Lord Byron said, on November 20, 2008 at 9:47 pm

    My Ulcerative Colitis trumps your mono!

  2. Ashley said, on November 20, 2008 at 10:03 pm

    I very much enjoyed your blog, well done. If I ever get sick I’m checking into the Shultz Hotel where oreos and milk flow like water. With that kind of service your mom offers up, I could fake an illness :)

  3. Heather Bee said, on November 20, 2008 at 10:59 pm

    I think my favorite part is the caption on the photo.

  4. Alexis yo said, on November 21, 2008 at 9:13 pm

    hahhaa, i love your writing. I’ve always been jealous of you for that. Anyway, I have a backwards envy of your illness. The thought of not having any worries. I’m sure i’d get over it in about 3 hours though.

  5. Mike said, on November 29, 2008 at 7:26 pm

    Kevin,

    Well there is at least one point of truth in this blog. Mentally, you are a child and are 16. You literally have no idea what you do to the people around you. You feel literally no obligation to the people around you, and no responsibility for your personal actions. I mean, if you get mono or get fired/layed off from you only viable option in the music industry, its not YOUR fault…I mean how could it?

    God bless that your mother loves your so unconditionally that she would come and SAVE you from yourself and nurse you back to health from MONO. You literally have no clue how wonderful a family you have (in Nashville, and its bc of your ridiculous sense of entitlement. To you, your mom SHOULD help you, bc she brought you into this world. BUT that is not how it works…she does it bc she loves you, and doesn’t want anything bad happen to you, but she could cut you off if she truly wanted to you.

    As an aside, I wonder from where that kind of mercy and selflessness comes. Hmmmm, nothing comes to mind. While you may argue some retarded thoughts of darwinistic motherly obligation to her children, it holds no water if you actually are educated holistically about the sociological considerations of all organisms on Earth.

    Kevin, you need help…you need God’s help, and that means your family’s cooperative help. HE works through the people around you to bring you happiness.

  6. Heather Bee said, on November 29, 2008 at 8:41 pm

    Mike, here’s the thing I’m hoping, as a believer in Christ: that you are not actually taking a hateful tone and expecting someone to believe God put that in your soul as a way of winning people over.

    Kevin’s post didn’t take a derogatory tone over the help his family has freely given. It seems ridiculous to infer that unless you are drawing from your own personal stash of belief. Unless you are actually a family member, I don’t see how you could take offense. If you are not, then I doubt a loving family member would want you speaking on their behalf.

    I really don’t think you should speak on God’s behalf either. You mention mercy in your post. I wonder why you can wave that in someone’s face without showing any yourself? Think about the things you have been forgiven for and then try to talk about yourself in a righteous context. I cannot.

  7. Mike said, on November 29, 2008 at 11:51 pm

    First of all, I do not speak on God’s behalf. Only God speaks on God’s behalf. That you would even insinuate that shows your absolute smugness and arrogance in the matter. I speak on my own behalf.

    Christians are NOT people who simply acquiesce in all things simply because people have different beliefs. As a christian, I can respect your RIGHT to have beliefs that differ from my own, but under no circumstances am I obligated in any way to actually respect your beliefs or even legitimate them by some sort of distorted tolerance.

    Tolerance is a complete logical inconsistency in and of itself. If someone who preaches tolerance of all beliefs and creeds and adheres closely to it meets someone who does the same for intolerance of all beliefs, then the tolerant person must tolerate the intolerant, leading to absolute moral relativity and deconstruction of all beliefs, leading to Nietzsche’s “Uber Man” and the removal of all ethics.

    You are correct, as a christian I believe in mercy and forgiveness, among other things, for my fellow man. When I heard, in great detail, about what happened with Kevin and his “situation”, genuinely my first impression was that I pitied him. I pitied his arrogance, that he truly believes that his life and all things to which he is connected and that are connected to him are governed by some abstract mathematical probabilities and general “chaos theory”.

    The thing you do not understand, most obviously so, is that nothing in which I said is said with any hatred. I haven’t, and never will have, any kind of hatred for Kevin. I will love him as a friend as long as I live. But that, unfortunately dictated by his own actions, is where my love will stop. Under no obligation as a christian do I have to love his choices or lifestyle changes. AGAIN, I respect the right he has to make them, but not his actual choice. You seem to have a real problem with distinguishing between process and result of that process when it comes to articulating real sense about christianity. I can love him and respect him in his right to decide whatever path he wants, but I am under no obligation to love or respect his choice.

    To make such a momental break with everything he has ever known took alot of moxy, but to make such a catastrophic division between himself, his family, and some of friends is not without consequences. Regardless of the forgiveness, grace, and mercy God has exhibited over time, God held everyone in the Bible responsible for his or her own actions. If Kevin, by doing what he did, thought that by doing what he did he was going to not hear any kind opposition (i.e. being held accountable for his actions) to what he did is very naive. Does that mean that those who oppose his decision somehow do not love him? Of course not. It is BECAUSE we have love for him that we speak out. If we felt nothing, we would not be doing anything, and that is what my response is all about. This will be the only response to you Heather, and if Kevin wants to be mature and magnanimous, he can respond to me anytime. He has my phone number, email, and any other kind of communication tool at his disposal. I doubt he will, but I love him in a way that I will always be there for him if he wants it.

  8. Alexis yo said, on December 1, 2008 at 10:47 pm

    hahahaha.. this guy is hysterical. Mike, Please for the sake of our judicial system… study a little harder and learn how to present an intelligent case.

  9. […] I’m busy with my “shit show” of a life and have plenty of time left to sit ungratefully at home while the rest of the world crashes down around me.  I must’ve forgotten!  Sweet. Possibly […]


Leave a Reply

